HERO Challenge Championship


The HERO Challenge Championship

By popular demand, the scheduled HERO Challenges for 2022 will form part of their own championship which will NOT count for the HERO Cup.

Crews can enter this with a view to progressing up the ladder to tackle one of our more difficult events in the future. Competitors who are masters are NOT eligible for championship points.

The winning driver and navigator of the HERO Challenge Championship will receive a £250 Voucher which can be used off any future entry or purchase on the HERO Store. The overall second-placed driver and navigator will be awarded with a £100 voucher and third place will receive a £50 voucher.

2022 Championship Standings (After Round One)

HERO Challenge Championship 2022 – Drivers

HERO Challenge Championship 2022 – Navigators

HERO Challenge Two – 23rd July 2022 – Bicester

HERO Challenge Three – 1st October 2022 – Chichester

Master’s Class

In respect of any Masters who wish to enter into these events, they will not be eligible for an overall result or any awards other than class awards. 10 Masters Entries will be accepted once the Entry list opens any further Masters Entries will only be accepted 28 days prior to the event, and only when entries are still available not taken up by Non Masters Crews.

The Definition of Master’s ClassA Master, for the purposes of awarding HERO Challenge Championship Points , will be defined by a competitor (in the seat they have entered the event) who has finished first overall on a HERO green or blue standard event or any ERA event, in the top three of a red or black event (including Rally of the Tests in the overall positions, including non-eligible cars), received a Gold medal on Le Jog, or finished in the top three of a HRCR National B/Inter Club Road Rally in the last 3 years.

If a crew begins the 2022 season as a non-master, they will remain a non-master for the period of that season.

The type of car and what category is irrelevant – the definition of a Master is purely based upon the crew’s experience.

To be eligible for HERO Challenge Championship Points, the crews:

1 – Must compete in at least one of the individual events to be able to qualify for HERO Challenge Championship points – by doing so they confirm their acceptance of these 2022 HERO Challenge Championship rules.

2 – Points are only scored by the individual competitor. The competitor is entitled to compete in different cars for different events, and have a different drivers/navigators on different events.

3 – Master drivers and navigators are NOT eligible for HERO Challenge Championship points, but if their driver or navigator is not a Master in that role on the event, then they alone ARE eligible for HERO Challenge Championship points.

4 – Points are awarded on both individual events, based on the class results as published (so if a HERO Challenge participant is the class winner, they get maximum points. If the class winner is a Master, then the second highest placed Hero Challenge non-Master participant would get maximum points for finishing second in class, and so on).

5 – Competitors can compete in one, two or three HERO Challenge Championship events. The top three drivers and top three navigators at the end of the Championship will receive special awards.

6 – In the event of a tie, the win will go to the competitor with the highest number of class positions first. If a tie still exists, the best overall positions will be taken into account, and finally the least penalties at the first timing point of the first Regularity completed by the competitor.

7 – Class positions will be calculated by ignoring overall positions, i.e. first overall on the event will be first in class for HERO Challenge Championship points, not the class position shown in results.

Points will be awarded on each event as follows:

Competitors finishing first in class are awarded 10 HERO Challenge Championship points.

Competitors finishing second in class are awarded 8 HERO Challenge Championship points.

Competitors finishing third in class are awarded 6 HERO Challenge Championship points.

Competitors finishing fourth in class are awarded 5 HERO Challenge Championship points.

Competitors finishing fifth in class are awarded 4 HERO Challenge Championship points.

Competitors finishing sixth in class are awarded 3 HERO Challenge Championship points.

Competitors finishing seventh in class are awarded 2 HERO Challenge Championship points.

Competitors finishing eighth in class are awarded 1 HERO Challenge Championship points.

In addition to the above and to add a bit of spice – Each of the three HERO Challenge overall event winners will be awarded a bonus of 5 points, 3 for second and 1 point for third place that will contribute towards the championship points. Masters are not eligible for overall bonus points, so if two Master drivers finish first and second overall, maximum points will be awarded to the third placed non-Master driver, and so on. The same bonus points will be awarded to the top three drivers on each event in the Test pilot category and the same for the navigators in the Clockwatchers category. Masters are not eligible to receive Championship points in these categories, and they are not eligible for these awards


The Organisers reserve the right to adjudicate on any queries raised regarding the allocation of points. A provisional points table will be published on the HERO website within seven days of the end of each qualifying event and entrants will have a further seven days in which to raise any queries. These must be submitted in writing. If appropriate, a further set of points will be published which will remain open to query for a further seven days from publication. Once this period has expired the points will be considered final and not subject to any further amendment.

The award winners will be announced in accordance with the above schedule and the formal presentation will take place in early 2023.

These HERO Challenge Championship Rules should be read in conjunction with the event Additional Supplementary Regulations and HERO Standard Regulations.

Final 2021 Championship Points

HERO Challenge Championship 2021 – Drivers

HERO Challenge Championship 2021 – Navigators

Final 2020 Championship Points

HERO Challenge Championship 2020 – Drivers

HERO Challenge Championship 2020 – Navigators

Read more about the 2020 HERO Challenge Championship HERE